Cat No: 3543964

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studios in late 1960, Genius + Soul = Jazz was one of the first four albums released on the Impulse! label.

It was produced by Creed Taylor and includes hard-blowing arrangements by Quincy Jones and Ralph Burns. Charles switched from his usual electric piano to a churchy sounding Hammond organ and brought in the majority of Count Basies band including trumpeters Thad Jones and Joe Newman, tenor saxophonists Billy Mitchell and Frank Wess, guitarist Freddie Green and drummer Sonny Payne. The record ascended to the No. 4 spot on Billboard’s pop album chart and spawned the very first singles on Impulse! helping to put the label on the map. Jazz pianist Dick Katz wrote in his original liner notes, “The combination here of rare talent plus uncommon craftsmanship has produced a record that showcases the timeless quality an innate taste that is uniquely that of Ray Charles.

  1. From The Heart (Side A)
  2. Ive Got News For You (Side A)
  3. Moanin (Side A)
  4. Lets Go (Side A)
  5. One Mint Julep (Side A)
  6. Im Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town (Side B)
  7. Stompin Room Only (Side B)
  8. Mister C (Side B)
  9. Strike Up The Band (Side B)
  10. Birth Of The Blues (Side B)

Genius + Soul = Jazz


Available on back-order

Format:LP Genre:Jazz Record Label:Decca Release Date:14/05/2021
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.