Cat No: CR00283

I, Jonathan’ is the fourth solo album by Jonathan Richman, released by the Rounder Records label in 1992. This is the first time it has ever been available on vinyl.

As the founder of influential protopunk band The Modern Lovers, Richman had strived to convey authentic emotions and storytelling with his music. I, Jonathan continued this aesthetic with simple and sparse rock and roll arrangements, and straightforward lyrics about mundane topics.

Songs on the album addressed topics such as backyard parties (“Parties in the U.S.A”), memories of neighborhoods in which Richman had lived (“Rooming House on Venice Beach” and “Twilight in Boston”) and his admiration of his primary musical inspiration, the Velvet Underground (“Velvet Underground”). The latter song includes a brief interlude of the Velvet Underground song, Sister Ray.

The album helped increase Richman’s cultural profile, which would include a 1993 appearance on Late Night with Conan O’Brien in which Richman performed one of the album’s songs, “I Was Dancing in the Lesbian Bar”.

A1 Parties In The U.S.A 4:42
A2 Tandem Jump 2:10
A3 You Can’t Talk To The Dude 2:49
A4 Velvet Underground 3:23
A5 I Was Dancing In The Lesbian Bar 3:40
B1 Rooming House On Venice Beach 5:04
B2 That Summer Feeling 6:02
B3 Grunion Run 2:31
B4 A Higher Power 3:02
B5 Twilight In Boston 4:08

I, Jonathan


Out of stock

Join the waitlist to be emailed when this product becomes available

Format:LP Genre:Rock Record Label:Craft Recordings Release Date:14/08/2020
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.