Cat No: HF7LPC

1. Buffalo  
2. 20/20  
3. The English Ruse  
4. The Girl Who Fell To Earth  
5. Detroit  
6. Needle’s Eye  
7. Seven Walls  
8. Oscillate  
9. To The Wire 
10. Is It On?  
11. Matador 
A sense of space permeates every second of Matador’s thirty-nine minutes. From the astral 
gorgeousness of ‘The Girl Who Fell To Earth’ to the dream-like cadences of ‘Oscillate’, it’s the sound 
of a songwriter melting musical boundaries like snow; merging elements of Neu!, Disney musicals, 
Swedish psychedelicists Goat, Gyorgy Ligeti and Eno in a glacial soundscape as ambitious as it is 
beautiful. The result is an album in the classic sense. Matador is the sound of one of Britain’s greatest
songwriters facing the future with a flourish.  
Gaz Coombes’ second solo album – Matador – is due for release on January 26th 2015. The self
produced follow up to 2012’s Here Come The Bombs was recorded in Gaz’s home studio and 
Courtyard Studios in Oxfordshire. Everything on the record was played by Gaz (except drums on four 
tracks by Loz Colbert, synths on ‘Buffalo’ by Charly Coombes; backing vocals across the record come 
from Beverlei Brown and Faith Simpson). The album features the 2013 single ‘Buffalo’. 



Available on back-order

Format:LP (Yellow Vinyl) Genre:Indie Rock Record Label:Virgin Music Release Date:06/01/2023
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.