Cat No: 19658843782

Columbia Records and Legacy Recordings, the Catalog Division of Sony Music 
Entertainment, Set to Release Bob Dylan – The Complete Budokan 1978 on Friday, 
November 17 
Newly Remixed & Remastered from Original 24-Channel Analog Tapes, The 
Complete Budokan 1978 Celebrates the 45th Anniversary of Bob Dylan’s First 
Concerts in Japan  
Deluxe Box Set Presents Two Complete Shows from Tokyo’s Nippon Budokan Hall 
(February 28 & March 1, 1978) featuring 58 Tracks, 36 of which are Previously 
Columbia Records and Legacy Recording, the catalog 
division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release Bob Dylan – The Complete Budokan 1978 
on Friday, November 17. 
A deluxe box set celebrating Bob Dylan’s 1978 world concert tour and the 45th anniversary of 
the artist’s first concert appearances in Japan, The Complete Budokan 1978 presents two full 
shows originally recorded on 24-channel multitrack analog tapes at Tokyo’s Nippon Budokan 
Hall on February 28 and March 1, 1978 and offers fans 36 previously unreleased Dylan 
performances. The Complete Budokan 1978 will be available in 4CD, 8LP (Japan only) and 
digital configurations. Also available, Bob Dylan – Another Budokan 1978, a 2LP highlight 
edition featuring 16 specially selected unreleased tracks from the box set.  
The Bob Dylan World Tour 1978 marked the artist’s first international concert dates since 1966 
and his first live shows since the Rolling Thunder Revue blasted through North America in 
1975-76. A major international musical event, the year-long tour found Bob Dylan performing 
114 shows in Asia, Oceania, North America and Europe, to a combined audience of two million 
The tour launched in February 1978 with eleven historic performances: Dylan’ first-ever 
concerts in Japan which included eight shows at the revered Nippon Budokan Hall in Tokyo. 
Two of the Budokan shows–February 28 and March 1, 1978–were recorded on 24-channel 
multi-track analog tape with 22 performances excerpted from those shows appearing on Bob 
Dylan At Budokana 2LP set first issued on Columbia Records as a Japan-only release in 
November 1978, followed by a global release in April 1979 in response to widespread demand. 
The Complete Budokan 1978 marks the first time any of Dylan’s complete performances from 
his 1978 world tour have been officially available. 
For his 1978 performances, Dylan (rhythm guitar, harmonica, vocals) led an ensemble featuring 
Billy Cross (lead guitar), Ian Wallace (drums), Alan Pasqua (keyboards), Rob Stoner (bass, 
vocals), Steven Soles (acoustic rhythm guitar, vocals), David Mansfield (pedal steel, violin, 
mandolin, guitar, dobro), Steve Douglas (saxophone, flute, recorder), Bobbye Hall (percussion), 
Helena Springs (vocals), Jo Ann Harris (vocals), and Debi Dye (vocals). The original Bob 
Dylan At Budokan album was produced by Don DeVito, who also helmed Dylan’s Street-Legal, 
recorded and released during the 1978 world tour, featuring the same musicians. 
According to Tetsuya Shiroki, co-producer of The Complete Budokan 1978the newly restored, 
remixed and remastered recordings “…capture(s) two days of this history-making tour. Nothing 
has been removed or altered in any way.” 
Many individuals involved in the original Bob Dylan at Budokan album reunited for the new 
release. Under the supervision of Heckel Sugano, the CBS Sony product manager for Bob 
Dylan in Japan at the time, the engineer responsible for the 1978 recording has worked on the 
new 2023 remix using the original 24-channel multi-tapes, while the album cover showcases 
artwork by the same photographers as the original. 
Chief engineer Tom Suzuki says, “We mixed the record with the keyword ‘passion’ in mind. The 
result is a mix that surpasses the original 1978 release, providing a crisper and clearer sound 
where each instrument and Bob Dylan’s voice are distinctly audible.” 
Heckel Sugano says, “The completed album documents the remarkable sound of the legendary 
Budokan shows that are forever etched in history. We tried to faithfully reproduce the sound the 
Japanese audience would have heard in the concert hall.. 
Presented in a luxurious deluxe box, The Complete Budokan 1978 includes newly remixed 
complete live recordings from the two Budokan concert dates featuring 36 previously 
unreleased tracks; facsimile memorabilia such as concert tickets, pamphlets, posters, and flyers; 
60-page full-color photo book of previously unpublished photos of Dylan on-stage and behind
the-scenes at the airport, press conferences and more; exclusive liner notes. The 2LP Another 
Budokan 1978 features 16 previously unreleased tracks from the Budokan box. 
In her liner essay for The Complete Budokan 1978, music critic Edna Gundersen notes that the 
original Bob Dylan At Budokan album “has undergone a sober reappraisal over the decades as 
consumers and critics grew to admire its adventurous arrangements and provocative 
performances.” She heralds the new restored and remastered release, writing that Captured at 
Budokan, Dylan is in good spirits and fully engaged. He sings with brio and urgency, his voice 
clear and melodic and his phrasing impeccable as ever….The band crackles with careening 
energy…. (Dylan) saw the stage as a proving ground that brought his tunes to life. 
The Complete Budokan 1978  
4-CD Deluxe Box 
Live at Nippon Budokan Hall, Tokyo, Japan – February 28, 1978
1. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall*  
2. Repossession Blues* 
3. Mr. Tambourine Man*  
4. I Threw It All Away*  
5. Shelter From The Storm  
6. Love Minus Zero/No Limit  
7. Girl From The North Country*  
8. Ballad Of A Thin Man*  
9. Maggie’s Farm*  
10. To Ramona*  
11. Like A Rolling Stone*  
12. I Shall Be Released*  
13. Is Your Love In Vain? *  
14. Going, Going, Gone*  
1. One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later) *  
2. Blowin‘ In The Wind*  
3. Just Like A Woman*  
4. Oh, Sister*  
5. Simple Twist Of Fate  
6. You’re A Big Girl Now*  
7. All Along The Watchtower*  
8. I Want You*  
9. All I Really Want To Do*  
10. Tomorrow Is A Long Time*  
11. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right 
12. Band introductions*  
13. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)  
14. Forever Young  
15. The Times They Are A-Changin’  
Live at Nippon Budokan Hall, Tokyo, Japan – March 1, 1978
1. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall*  
2. Love Her With A Feeling* 
3. Mr. Tambourine Man  
4. I Threw It All Away*  
5. Love Minus Zero/No Limit*  
6. Shelter From The Storm*  
7. Girl From The North Country*  
8. Ballad Of A Thin Man  
9. Maggie’s Farm  
10. One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)  
11. Like A Rolling Stone  
12. I Shall Be Released  
13. Is Your Love In Vain?  
14. Going, Going, Gone  
1. One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later) *  
2. Blowin‘ In The Wind  
3. Just Like A Woman  
4. Oh, Sister  
5. I Don’t Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Have Met) *  
6. You’re A Big Girl Now*  
7. All Along The Watchtower  
8. I Want You  
9. All I Really Want To Do  
10. Knockin‘ On Heaven’s Door  
11. The Man In Me*  
12. Band introductions*  
13. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)*  
14. Forever Young*  
15. The Times They Are A-Changin’* 
*Previously Unreleased 

The Complete Budokan 1978


Available on back-order

Format:4 CD Boxset Genre:Rock Record Label:Sony Release Date:17/11/2023
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.