TNT’ builds upon the spare, instrumental framework of the group’s first, self-titled album, and the extended edits, melodic adventures, and klangfarben of the subsequent full-length release, ‘Millions Now Living Will Never Die’.

Further to this, Tortoise’s interest in the possibilities offered by the remixing of tracks was realized within the actual production of ‘TNT’; individual elements, sections, or sometimes whole compositions mutate within the album’s shifting framework. These techniques were suitably realized, thanks in part to the use of non-linear digital recording and editing methods, the first example of such work for the group.

  1. TNT
  2. Swung From The Gutters
  3. Ten-Day Interval
  4. I Set My Fave To The Hillside
  5. The Equator
  6. A Simple Way To Go Faster Than Light That Does Now Work
  7. The Suspension Bridge At Igazu Falls
  8. Four-Day Interval
  9. In Sarah, Mencken, Christ And Beethoven There Were Women And Men
  10. Almost Always Is Nearly Enough
  11. Jetty
  12. Everglade



1 in stock

Format:Double LP (Indies Only Jalepeno Green Vinyl) Genre:Indie Rock Record Label:Thrill Jockey Release Date:19/08/2022
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.