Cat No: FATLP84X

The Winter Of Mixed Drinks was written over seven weeks in the isolated but beautiful coastal town of Crail in Fyfe, Scotland, following heavy touring in support of the bands second album The Midnight Organ Fight.

Grant Hutchison, drummer, stated the location had a big impact on the songs. There’s defnitely a nautical theme to a lot of the tracks and a feeling of testing yourself to the limit which the sea plays a big part in. The album was primarily recorded at Castle Sound Studios in Scotland, with additional recording and production taking place at Tarquin Studios in Connecticut, alongside their trusted producer Peter Katis. Upon release in March 2010, the album was greeted with widespread critical acclaim, with Drowned in Sound praising frontman Scott Hutchison, describing his performance as having the same tremble in the voice, the same elegance in the guitar tone, the same march of the Military Tattoo in the rhythm but a renewed purpose. The Fly also praised Scott, claiming him to be one of the most underrated voices in rock, and going further stating, what more could you possibly want from Frightened Rabbits third album? They’re hurling themselves fearlessly at the bright lights, and coming back all the stronger for it. The Guardian praised the albums sharp song- writing, stating, most of their songs with themes of escape, freedom and reinvention have huge impassioned choruses that are made to be shouted from the nearest available mountain, whilst the NME maintained the album to be stunning, and further wrote for every song of heartache (Yes, I Would) and self-loathing (The Loneliness & The Scream), there’s one of redemption (FootShooter) or hope (Swim Until You Cant See Land). The album deviates from their previous alt-folkish sensibilities: the fuzzed-up shoegazing of Things and the anthemic chorus of Living In Colour herald an exciting new bullshit-free dawn. This is an album that all of us here at FatCat and all of those involved in its creation are immensely proud of, as relevant and striking today as it was upon first listen back at the dawn of a new decade ten years ago.

  1. Things
  2. Swim Until You Cant See Land 3. The Loneliness and the Scream 4.
  3. The Wrestle
  4. Skip the Youth
  5. Nothing Like You
  6. Man/Bag of Sand
  7. FootShooter
  8. Not Miserable
  9. Living In Colour
  10. Yes, I Would
  11. Things Live at the Roundhouse, London, UK. December 7th 2016
  12. The Wrestle Live at The Grog Shop, Cleveland, OH, USA. May 5th 2010

The Winter Of Mixed Drinks: 10th Anniversary Edition


Available on back-order

Format:LP (Ice Blue Vinyl) & 7" Genre:Indie Folk, Indie Rock Record Label:Fat Cat Release Date:11/12/2020
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.