Cat No: 5054197145711


JAPAN 1971

7″ paper sleeve containing:

CD: • “Atom Heart Mother” studio album

Blu-ray: • Filmed live performance of

“Atom Heart Mother”

  • Scott & Watts (Hakone Aphrodite B-roll)

Includes the legendary first show in Japan by Pink Floyd

Also includes:

  • 60-page photo book with unreleased photos
  • Replica of Hakone Aphrodite pamphlet
  • Replica of venue map flyer
  • Replica of Osaka show poster
  • Replica of Hakone Aphrodite ticket


Pink Floyd’s first concert in Japan, at the Hakone Aphrodite festival, will be released as a special 2-disc package in a 7-inch sleeve, containing the “Atom Heart Mother” album on CD and a Blu-ray disc featuring newly discovered video of the performance from over 50 years ago. The album will be released on December 8. Originally only released in Japan in 2021, the set contains some unique memorabilia – a special photo book containing many rare, never-seen-before photos, reproductions of the pamphlet, the poster, the concert ticket, and the flier distributed at the event.


The only Pink Floyd footage at Hakone Aphrodite that exists is that of the 16-minute-long suite “Atom Heart Mother.” The details including whereabouts of the master film and how it was shot had been a mystery for a long time. However, after fifty years, the original 16mm film of this video was discovered in a fan’s garage. The meticulous processes of digitizing, restoring and remastering was undertaken and finally this enhanced video will be released outside of Japan. Over 50 years ago, Japan’s first international outdoor rock festival “Hakone Aphrodite” was held at a specially built venue beside Hakone Ashinoko Lake on August 6th and 7th, 1971. Pink Floyd’s first ever concert in Japan was as headliner for the festival.  Aspiring to be the Japanese Woodstock, The “Hakone Aphrodite” invited many international artists and became the first rock festival experience for many Japanese fans.


The set contains not only the original live footage (with audio taken from the gig at Hakone Aphrodite), but also behind-the-scenes footage of the band, travelling between the airport, the hotel, the press conference, the bullet train, the show set-up, and, of course, beautiful Japanese scenery.


Album track List:

  1. Atom Heart Mother:
  2. a) Father’s Shout
  3. b) Breast Milky
  4. c) Mother Fore
  5. d) Funky Dung
  6. e) Mind Your Throats Please
  7. f) Remergence


  1. If
  2. Summer ’68
  3. Fat Old Sun
  4. Alan’s Psychedelic Breakfast:
  5. a) Rise And Shine
  6. b) Sunny Side Up
  7. c) Morning Glory


The Blu-ray features two pieces of footage:

Atom Heart Mother (Live: Hakone Aphrodite 1971)  16:08

Scott & Watts (behind the scenes documentary clip)  3:11

Atom Heart Mother (Special Edition)


Available on back-order

Format:Boxset (Limited Edition, CD, Blu-Ray, 60 page photo book) Genre:Rock Record Label:Pink Floyd Music Ltd. Release Date:08/12/2023
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.