Cat No: 862466

  • Nominated for the 2010 Mercury Music Prize.
  • Reflecting the urgency and claustrophobia of city life, the record dispensed with the acoustic, folky and pastoral influences of Wellers recent work and introduced more jagged rock styles with angry, urban and metallic influences Diamond Dogs, Low-period Bowie riffs.
  • Very experimental, mostly short songs but with a sense of adventure often packing a suites worth of twists into one song the updated New Orleans shuffle meets bonkers music hall of Many of the left turns arrive via the arrangements witness the careening chaos after the chorus of Grasp & Still Connect, or the mutating psychedelia of Andromeda
  • Amongst the experimentation though, Jam fans will love the tightly wound collaboration with Bruce Foxton on Fast Car/Slow Traffic, the dense dangerous heartbeat and militaristic sound collage of 7&3 Is the Strikers Name (featuring My Bloody Valentines Kevin Shields).
  • Style Council fans will appreciate the jazz waltz of In Amsterdam or No Tears to Cry a sublime Walker Brothers style ballad, as well as Aim High, his finest blue-eyed soul ballad in ages.
  • The album was dedicated to absent friends
    • John Weller Pauls Dad and manager
    • Pat Foxton wife of bass-player Bruce, who died in early 2009. It was the first of Wellers albums since 1982 to feature contributions from Bruce Foxton, formerly of The Jam:

We’d both lost loved ones, and without getting too spiritual that was the spur of it. I spoke to him this time last year when his wife Pat was ill and that broke the ice Paul

Robert Kirby arranger of string sections for rock and folk music, best known for his work on Nick Drake albums (also worked with Vashti Bunyan, Elton John, Ralph McTell, Elvis Costello and Paul Weller on the Heliocentric album)

Stockhausen meets the Small Faces!!

  1. Moonshine
  2. Wake Up The Nation
  3. No Tears To Cry
  4. Fast Car / Slow Traffic
  5. Andromeda
  6. In Amsterdam
  7. She Speaks
  8. Find The Torch, Burn The Plans
  9. Aim High
  10. Trees
  11. Grasp & Still Connect
  12. Whatever Next
  13. 7 & 3 Is The Strikers Name
  14. Up The Dosage
  15. Pieces Of A Dream
  16. Two Fat Ladies

Wake Up The Nation (10th Anniversary Edition)

From £12.99

Cat No: 862465

A1 Moonshine
A2 Wake Up The Nation
A3 No Tears To Cry
A4 Fast Car / Slow Traffic
A5 Andromeda
A6 In Amsterdam
A7 She Speaks
A8 Find The Torch, Burn The Plans
B1 Aim High
B2 Trees
B3 Grasp & Still Connect
B4 Whatever Next
B5 7&3 Is The Strikers Name
B6 Up The Dosage
B7 Pieces Of A Dream
B8 Two Fat Ladies

Cat No: 0862466

1 Moonshine
2 Wake Up The Nation
3 No Tears To Cry
4 Fast Car / Slow Traffic
5 Andromeda
6 In Amsterdam
7 She Speaks
8 Find The Torch, Burn The Plans
9 Aim High
10 Trees
11 Grasp & Still Connect
12 Whatever Next
13 7 & 3 Is The Strikers Name
14 Up The Dosage
15 Pieces Of A Dream
16 Two Fat Ladies

Genre:Rock Record Label:Island Release Date:27/11/2020
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.