Cat No: ARHSDLP009

This career spanning ‘Best of’ features three recordings from the band’s early career on the Hansa Records label (including 1979’s “Quiet Life”) but mainly focuses on material from their two seminal studio albums on Virgin Records; Gentlemen Take Polaroids (1980) and Tin Drum (1981).

Exorcising Ghosts (1984) is a 16-track 2LP set compiled and produced in consultation with lead singer David Sylvian, two years after Japan dissolved. Features key album tracks and 6 UK Top 60 singles: “Gentlemen Take Polaroids” #60 in Oct. 1980 “The Art of Parties” #48 in May 1981 “Visions of China” #32 in Nov. 1981 “Quiet Life” #19 in Sept. 1981 “Ghosts” #5 in March 1982 “Nightporter” #29 in Nov. 1982

  1. Methods of Dance
  2. Swing
  3. Gentlemen Take Polaroids
  4. Quiet Life
  5. A Foreign Place
  6. Nightporter
  7. My New Career
  8. The Other Side of Life
  9. Visions of China
  10. Taking Islands in Africa
  11. Ghosts
  12. Songs of Pioneers
  13. Voices Raised in Welcome, Hands Held in Prayer
  14. Life Without Buildings
  15. Talking Drum
  16. The Art of Parties

Exorcising Ghosts


Available on back-order

Format:Double LP (Limited Edition Half-Speed Master) Genre:Rock Record Label:UMC Release Date:07/10/2022
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.