Cat No: 0190295460822

A1 Balance, Not Symmetry
A2 All Singing And All Dancing
A3 Different Kind Of Love
A4 Sunrise
B1 Pink
B2 Colour Wheel
B3 Gates Of Heaven
B4 Fever Dream
B5 Navy Blue
C1 Tunnels And Trees
C2 Plead
C3 The Naturals
C4 Yellow
D1 Touch
D2 Jasabiab
D3 Following Master
D4 Adored

Biffy Clyro share a soundtrack album of original material called Balance, Not Symmetry, written for the film of the same name, which frontman Simon Neil collaborated on with director Jamie Adams.

Regarding the collaboration, Simon Neil explains On meeting Jamie, we realised early on that wed both had to deal with grief at a relatively young age and so it was interesting to talk about how wed both dealt with it and the effect it had on us and this is the main crux of the film, delving into the lonely world of grief and loss and coming out the other side.

The 17-song Balance, Not Symmetry explodes into life with the title track, which tightly packages Biffy’s angular rhythms with the kind of sky-bound hook that they’ve established as a hallmark of their sound. The track is accompanied by an official video. Also directed by Adams, it intercuts the bands visceral live performance with footage from the film.

While the collection often explores Biffy’s gift for arena-filling anthems on the likes of All Singing and All Dancing, Tunnel and Trees and Touch, the album as a whole leans towards introspection and experimentation. The foreboding yet elegiac Gates Of Heaven is quite unlike anything that the band have recorded before, Colour Wheel switches to a more ethereal ambience and Touch echoes the emotional power of previous Biffy classics such as Many Of Horror and Re-arrange.

The album also includes three mood-setting instrumentals (Pink, Navy Blue and Yellow) plus a studio recording of Different Kind of Love, which originally featured on last years MTV Unplugged album. It was co-produced by Adam Noble and Biffy Clyro, and recorded at AIR Studios, Monnow Valley Studio and ICP Studios.

Balance, Not Symmetry (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)


Available on back-order

Format:CD Genre:Rock Record Label:Warner Release Date:26/07/2019
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.