Cat No: EARTHLP047

The world renowned guitarist, Bert Jansch, has long been celebrated for his innovative playing style, influencing generations of musicians and fans alike.

A companion piece to 1966s Jack Orion, The Ornament Tree gets newly reissued with liner notes from Colin Harper, who wrote the biography of Bert and the new folk Revival, Dazzling Stranger.
Bert’s eighteenth studio album comprises Scottish and Irish traditional songs. Filled with ballads like the title song and instrumentals The Rocky Road to Dublin and Lady Fair. Tradition is threaded throughout with the accompaniment of Celtic fiddles, flutes and bodhran. It features performances from Maggie Boyle, Peter Boyle, Steve Tilston and Michael Klein.

Its been over thirty years since The Ornament Trees initial release, here Jansch continues to prove his importance in contemporary folk with this timeless and invigorating offering.

Excellent as always AllMusic

A true return to form Prog

★★★★ Uncut

Track List

Side A
A1 The Ornament Tree (Bonny Portmore)
A2 The Banks O’Sicily
A3 The Rambling Boys of Pleasure
A4 The Rocky Road to Dublin
A5 Three Dreamers
A6 The Mountain Streams

Side B
B1 The Blackbirds of Mullamore
B2 Ladyfair
B3 The Road Tae Dundee
B4 Tramps and Hawkers
B5 The January Man
B6 Dobbins Flowery Vale

The Ornament Tree


Available on back-order

Format:LP (Limited Edition) Genre:Folk Record Label:Earth Recordings Release Date:08/10/2021
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.