Cat No: 3514860

Side A:

1. The Witch Doctor
2. Afrique
3. Those Who Sit And Wait

Side B
4. A Little Busy
5. Joelle
6. Lost And Found

Recorded in 1961, but not released until 1967, The Witch Doctor features one of Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers all-time great line-ups: Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone, Lee Morgan on trumpet, Bobby Timmons on piano, and Jymie Merritt on bass. Shorter and Morgan each contribute two tunes, with Timmons penning one.
Highlights include Morgans spectacular 6/8 modal piece Afrique and Shorters minor masterpiece Those Who Sit And Wait. Bobby Timmons brings the deep soul goods on his composition A Little Busy, and the album closes with a fleet-footed romp through Clifford Jordans tune Lost and Found.
Blue Note Records Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tapes, 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).

The Witch Doctor


Available on back-order

Format:LP (Limited Edition) Genre:Jazz Record Label:Blue Note Release Date:04/06/2021
Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock! An item which is "Available on back-order" will need to ordered in from the supplier as we do not currently hold it in stock. For more information please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.