Serpentine Prison

Cat No: CRE01277

Serpentine Prison, the debut solo record from Matt Berninger”front man of internationally acclaimed group The National ” is due 16th October. The album, produced by renowned Memphis multi-instrumentalist Booker T. Jones (of Booker T. & The MGs fame) will be released via Book Records, a new imprint formed by Berninger and Jones in conjunction with Concord Records.

In celebration of the upcoming release”the first on the new imprint”Berninger is premiering the video for the Serpentine Prisons title track today. Directed, shot and edited by Tom Berninger and Chris Sgroi, the video was filmed at Earthstar Creation Center, Venice, CA.

The song Serpentine Prison was written in December 2018, about a week after recording The Nationals I Am Easy to Find, Berninger explains about the new track. For a long time, I had been writing songs for movies and musicals and other projects where I needed to get inside someone elses head and convey another persons feelings. I liked doing that, but I was ready to dig back into my own garbage and this was the first thing that came out.

Berninger continues, The title is from a twisting sewer pipe that drains into the ocean near LAX. Theres a cage on the pipe to keep people from climbing out to sea. I worked on the song with Sean OBrien and Harrison Whitford and recorded it about six months later with Booker T. Jones producing. It feels like an epilogue, so I named the record after it and put it last.

The album features contributions from a wide array of notable artists, including Matt Barrick (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Andrew Bird, Mike Brewer, Hayden Desser, Scott Devendorf (The National), Gail Ann Dorsey (David Bowie, Lenny Kravitz), Booker T. Jones, Teddy Jones, Brent Knopf (EL VY, Menomena), Ben Lanz (The National, Beirut), Walter Martin (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Sean O’Brien, Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan), Kyle Resnick (The National, Beirut), Matt Sheehy (EL VY, Lost Lander) and Harrison Whitford (Phoebe Bridgers). Additional production on the album was provided by Sean OBrien

1. My Eyes Are T-Shirts

2. Distant Axis

3. One More Second

4. Loved So Little

5. Silver Springs

6. Oh Dearie

7. Take Me Out of Town

8. Collar Of Your Shirt

9. All For Nothing

10. Serpentine Prison







Record Label

Reset Selection

Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock. Our webstore does not show current stock levels & being able to add an item to your record bag means it is "available". Please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.