Any Human Friend


Cat No: 060257787444

A1 Wanderlust
A2 The One
A3 All Night
A4 Blow
A5 I’m Not Where You Are
A6 Send My Love
B1 Hand Solo
B2 Conventional Ride
B3 Come Undone
B4 Hold On
B5 Any Human Friend

Any Human Friend has been co-produced by David Wrench (Frank Ocean, The xx, Lets Eat Grandma) and Marika herself, and shows off a sharper and more liberated sound than ever before.

hand solo, blow, conventional ride”these are just a few of the brazen, bold offerings from Any Human Friend. This whole record is me diving into myself and peeling back the skin further and further, exposing myself in quite a big way. It can be quite sexual, Marika says. Its blunt, but not offensive. Its mischievous. Any Human Friend is ultimately about how, as Marika puts it, We all have this lightness and darkness in us.

Marika is a Rid of Me-era PJ Harvey for the inclusive generation: unbounded by musical genre, a preternatural lyricist and tunesmith who isnt afraid to go there. (Even her cover art, which finds Hackman nearly nude while cradling a baby pig, is a nod to Dutch photographer Rineke Dijkstras unfiltered photos of mothers just after they gave birth). To that end, hand solo extorts the virtues of masturbation and features Marikas favorite line, Under patriarchal law, Im going to die a virgin. The song blow paints a picture of social excess. And conventional ride deals with the classic trope of a straight girl who just wants to experiment but doesnt present it in that way.

With Any Human Friend, boundaries are no longer an issue for Marika. I sent all night to my parents and they were quite shocked, she says of the paean to the flesh, dressed as a sweetly harmonic track. Its a really overtly sexual song about a woman from the perspective of a woman. You dont hear much about sex between women in music, or if you do its usually from a fetishised male perspective; I thought Id reclaim a bit of that power.

Sharing intimacies with her parents makes sense when you consider she wrote the one”a portrait of the artist amid identity crisis where she crashed after a painful break-up with a longtime girlfriend. send my love, lyrically, is from the perspective of my ex-girlfriend, or all the things Id want to say to me if I was her. Its basically me looking in a really grotesque mirror, but using her perspective as the mouthpiece for my feelings of shame. She penned its companion track, im not where you are a melodic earworm about emotional detachment from relationships, roughly six months later.

The process of writing Any Human Friend was an incredibly difficult one: Marika stopped being able to sleep properly, waking up in the middle of the night to write songs – but as the best songwriters do, she strengthened her own voice through the process, exploring herself and emerging with a widescreen, heavy-hitting and sexy record.

The longer recording process meant that Marika had the time to experiment in the studio, especially with electronic songs. She deployed synthesisers that recall the off-kilter, oddball hits of OMD or New Order, and places them at the heart of the album. For all the urgency of the backing music, Marikas natural delivery and sensuous tone offers a dreamlike quality to the proceedings and allows her to look within to find answers that make sense outside.

Marika bookends Any Human Friend with some of her most unexpected musical turns. The first song she wrote, the one (technically its second track), is probably the poppiest song Ive ever written she says. I loved the idea of inhabiting this ridiculous arrogant rock star character who has totally fucked their career by writing too many sad songs. To that end, it features a riot grrrl Greek chorus hurling such insults at her as, Youre such an attention whore! The title track closes out the album and explores how, when were interacting with people, its like holding a mirror up to yourself. Its a weightless coda thats jazz-like in its layering of rhythmic sounds as if youre leisurely sorting through Marikas headspace.

Theres something incredibly hopeful about Any Human Friend – after all is said and done, what its saying is, youre alright, its going to be fine. The album is very much about us all accepting each others differences, the idea that we all want to be made of stone and be the same but in fact were golden.




Indie Rock



Record Label

AMF Records

Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock. Our webstore does not show current stock levels & being able to add an item to your record bag means it is "available". Please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.