Breaking Atoms

Cat No: MRBCD254

It remains a prime example of a classically styled hip-hop LP – two DJs, one MC,
11 tracks, no flab or filler. It wasn’t a slow burner – it was adored on release and
hasn’t left the top ten of any serious rap fan ever since.

What makes it so special? Perhaps it’s in the group’s ear for a hook and sample,
with Large Professor mounting a whole, celebrated career off the back of this
gem. Perhaps it’s in the way he manages to balance bragging with more political,
thematic tracks such as ‘Just a Friendly Game of Baseball’ and ‘Peace is not the
Word to Play’ without ever coming across as preachy.

Few albums of this length are able to spawn four singles – all of them must-haves
– while still having material galore on the album that could have been pressed as
a 12″. ‘Snake Eyes’ ‘Vamos a Rapiar’ and ‘He Got So Much Soul (He Don’t Need No
Music) could have been singles in their own rights, an embarrassment of riches.
Sample- wise, it’s all about the skilfully woven mixture of the obvious and the
obscure, with a tapestry of samples approach that’s just not legally possible
anymore. So while you might recognise a snatch of Donald Byrd’s ‘Think Twice’ on
the timeless ‘Looking at the Front Door’, it’s layered with elements from Ken
Lazarus, Detroit Emeralds, The Third Guitar and more. It’s an approach that pays
constant dividends and rewards repeated listens. Presented in its original format,
this is the essence of Breaking Atoms, one of the best albums in the long history
of this genre.

An all-time Hip Hop classic, critically acclaimed, and one of the best albums of
the genre.

Featuring 4 hit singles including ‘Looking at the Front Door’.

A production masterclass from Large Professor, and the debut of Nas

1. Snake Eyes
2. Just Hangin’ Out
3. Lookin’ At The Front Door
4. Large Professor
5. Just A Friendly Game Of Baseball
6. Scratch & Kut
7. Peace Is Not The Word To Play
8. Vamos A Rapiar
9. He Got So Much Soul (He Don’t Need No Music)
10. Live At The Barbeque
11. Watch Roger Do His Thing


Coming Soon


Hip Hop



Record Label

Mr Bongo
Available To Pre-Order Now
Reset Selection

Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock. Our webstore does not show current stock levels & being able to add an item to your record bag means it is "available". Please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.