A1. Jungle Bunny
A2. Past Lives (Interlude)
A3. Let England Burn
A4. St Kaepernick Wept
B1. Guava Rubicon
B2. My Business
B3. Ceiling Games
B4. Where She Came From (Interlude)
C1. Between Me And My Maker
C2. Natural Hair
C3. Cyril’s Blood
C4. Secrets West 29th
D1. Catching Feelings
D2. A Day Of National Shame (Interlude)
D3. Ocean View
D4. Back Burner

OVERVIEW: Kele, founding member & lead singer of Bloc Party, today announces the release of his new solo album 2042, heralded by the visceral first single Jungle Bunny.

There is a history of black entertainers feeling that after they have achieved a certain level of success that they are above discussions of race but that idea is a delusion, says Kele. As a person of colour living in the western world, it does not matter how much wealth one accumulates, race will follow you wherever you go. With JUNGLE BUNNY I wanted explore this idea: In a time of such rampant division and public racism, what is the responsibility of the black entertainer?”

2042 will be available from 8 November 2019 in digital, on CD and in limited edition 2xLP formats via Keles own label KOLA Records in association with !K7. 2042 is Keles fourth solo record and, following 2017s largely acoustic Fatherland (released under his full name and featuring a duet with Olly Alexander from Years and Years), marks something of a return to the adrenalised electronics of his previous two solo records, Trick (2014) and The Boxer (2010), whilst broadening the sonic palette by bringing in elements of his work with Bloc Party and a litany of other influences and ideas.

As an artist, Kele Okereke has never stood still, relentlessly seeking new ways in which to present his luminous songs. Whilst sonically markedly different from Fatherland, lyrically 2042 picks up a thread from that record whereby Keles life experiences and relationships suffuse the album with some of his most personal lyrics yet.







Record Label

Kola Records

Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock. Our webstore does not show current stock levels & being able to add an item to your record bag means it is "available". Please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.