The Blanck Mass Sessions

Cat No: PIASR1065LP

A1 Barricades
A2 Cold
A3 Hallelujah (So Low)
A4 Violence
B1 Darkness At The Door
B2 Nothingness
B3 Magazine
B4 Counting Spooks

An electronica-infused alternative version of Editors acclaimed Top 10 album Violence, The Blank Mass Sessions casts the songs in a bold new light, offering a fascinating insight into the albums creative process.

The eight track album, made up of producer Blanck Mass original productions of Violence, also includes the brand new single Barricades. For Barricades, Smiths hopeful lyrics combine with yearning synths over robotic drum machines and sweeping basslines, while Cold is given a frostier edge through Blanck Mass harsh percussion and robotic directness. Violences stripped back beat builds and erupts into a synth-fuelled chorus brim-full of busy drum patterns and Magazines jaunty, sweeping synths and rolling snares lend it even more electronic swagger than the original.

Hallelujah (So Low) gifts the greatest insight into the triangular relationship Violence was born from. The warmth of the album versions acoustic guitar and industrial fuelled chorus are replaced with sparse, ethereal synths, giving the track and The Blanck Mass Sessions in general, a mechanical, other-worldly edge.

Please note his is NOT the Record Store Day version.




Alternative Rock



Record Label

Play It Again Sam
Reset Selection

Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock. If your order is urgent, we recommend that you contact us prior to ordering to confirm it is in stock or available from the label (especially if it states "Available on Backorder" in the basket - due to system limitations, we regret that it does not show on this page).