Standing in the Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob...


Cat No: 4050538684261

The songs were recorded in lockdown by Chrissie and her Pretenders bandmate James Walbourne, almost entirely by text message.

James would record an initial idea on his phone and send it off to Chrissie to add her vocal, before the tracks were mixed by Tchad Blake (U2, Arctic Monkeys, Fiona Apple). The nine-track album will be released via BMG on 21st May. Speaking about how the album came together and its inspiration, Chrissie says: A few weeks into lockdown last year, James sent me the new Dylan track Murder Most Foul. Listening to that song completely changed everything for me. I was lifted out of this morose mood that Id been in. I remember where I was sitting the day that Kennedy was shot – every reference in the song. Whatever Bob does, he still manages somewhere in there to make you laugh because as much as anything, hes a comedian. Hes always funny and always has something to say. Thats when I called James and said, lets do some Dylan covers and thats what started this whole thing. Standing in the Doorway: Chrissie Hynde sings Bob Dylan includes Chrissie and James versions of In the Summertime, Youre a Big Girl Now, Standing in the Doorway, Dont Fall Apart on Me Tonight and Tomorrow is a Long Time.

  1. In the Summertime
  2. You’re a Big Girl Now
  3. Standing in the Doorway
  4. Sweetheart like You
  5. Blind Willie McTell
  6. Love Minus Zero / No Limit
  7. Don’t Fall Apart on Me Tonight
  8. Tomorrow Is a Long Time
  9. Every Grain of Sand







Record Label

Reset Selection

Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock. If your order is urgent, we recommend that you contact us prior to ordering to confirm it is in stock or available from the label (especially if it states "Available on Backorder" in the basket - due to system limitations, we regret that it does not show on this page).