Cat No: BBQ2179LP

Beggars Arkive is excited to announce a limited edition 30-year Anniversary edition of Buffalo Toms epic second album Birdbrain.

Available on mint green vinyl, the album has been out of print for years. Buffalo Tom (Bill Janovitz, Chris Colbourn and Tom Maginnis) formed at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst in 1984 – a breeding ground of post punk guitar bands like Dinosaur Jr. and Pixies. The three longstanding bandmates recognize the achievement of their longevity as a creative unit. Initially offering a raw, propulsive sound that emphasized Janovitzs imposing guitar squall on such early releases as 1989s Buffalo Tom and 1990s Birdbrain, Buffalo Toms early approach gave way to a more melodic, yet no less distinctive, style on 1992s Let Me Come Over (including the hit ballad Taillights Fade), 1993s Big Red Letter Day (including the hit Soda Jerk) and 1995s Sleepy Eyed. Their friendship with J. Mascis helped the bands career take off by assisting with the production on the bands first two albums; their self-titled debut, and Birdbrain. Since Birdbrains release 30 years ago, many songs from it album have become live favourites including the epic title track Birdbrain, and Enemy. Trouser Press wrote that [Birdbrain] boasts most of Buffalo Toms best songs. Buffalo Tom continues to make fantastic music, and they only get better with age. Their most recent album Quiet and Peace, came out in 2018.

  1. Birdbrain
  2. Skeleton Key
  3. Caress
  4. Guy Who Is Me
  5. Enemy
  6. Crawl
  7. Fortune Teller
  8. Baby
  9. Directive
  10. Bleeding Heart


LP (Coloured Vinyl)





Record Label

Beggars Banquet

Please be aware that not all items on the website are in stock. Our webstore does not show current stock levels & being able to add an item to your record bag means it is "available". Please see the stock availability section within the FAQ for details.