Balance, Not Symmetry (Original Motion...

Cat No: 0190295460822

1. Balance, Not Symmetry
2. All Singing and All Dancing
3. Different Kind of Love
4. Sunrise
5. Pink
6. Colour Wheel
7. Gates of Heaven
8. Fever Dream
9. Navy Blue
10. Tunnels and Trees
11. Plead
12. The Naturals
13. Yellow
14. Touch
15. Jasabiab
16. Following Master
17. Adored

Biffy Clyro share a soundtrack album of original material called Balance, Not Symmetry, written for the film of the same name, which frontman Simon Neil collaborated on with director Jamie Adams.

Regarding the collaboration, Simon Neil explains On meeting Jamie, we realised early on that wed both had to deal with grief at a relatively young age and so it was interesting to talk about how wed both dealt with it and the effect it had on us and this is the main crux of the film, delving into the lonely world of grief and loss and coming out the other side.

The 17-song Balance, Not Symmetry explodes into life with the title track, which tightly packages Biffys angular rhythms with the kind of sky-bound hook that theyve established as a hallmark of their sound. The track is accompanied by an official video. Also directed by Adams, it intercuts the bands visceral live performance with footage from the film.

While the collection often explores Biffys gift for arena-filling anthems on the likes of All Singing and All Dancing, Tunnel and Trees and Touch, the album as a whole leans towards introspection and experimentation. The foreboding yet elegiac Gates Of Heaven is quite unlike anything that the band have recorded before, Colour Wheel switches to a more ethereal ambience and Touch echoes the emotional power of previous Biffy classics such as Many Of Horror and Re-arrange.

The album also includes three mood-setting instrumentals (Pink, Navy Blue and Yellow) plus a studio recording of Different Kind of Love, which originally featured on last years MTV Unplugged album. It was co-produced by Adam Noble and Biffy Clyro, and recorded at AIR Studios, Monnow Valley Studio and ICP Studios.


Double LP





Record Label